A DUI is not something you are charged with everyday. In fact, many people who get a DUI are first-time offenders who really have no idea what the cost of a DUI conviction is. Not only are there long-lasting repercussions to your reputation, future job prospects, and your ability to drive, but the financial consequences of a DUI add up to a lot of money. Below are some of the costs that are associated with a DUI.
- Pay A Fine. Being convicted of a DUI can result in a fine that can be anywhere from $500 to $5,000 dollars for a first time offense. The fine for a second DUI offense could be between $600 and $10,000, with the fines increasing in amount for every subsequent DUI.
- Bailing Costs. If you are arrested for a DUI, you will have to post bail in order to be released while your case is pending before the court. You might be granted bail immediately upon booking, or you might have to attend a bail hearing. Bail is set based on your criminal history, how serious your DUI was, along with other factors.
- Court Costs and Legal Fees. You will be responsible for the court fees associated with your DUI case, which can range anywhere from $250 to $1,500. You will also need an experienced DUI criminal defense attorney to fight your charges, which will also cost you.
- Impounded Vehicle. When you are arrested for a DUI, your vehicle may be impounded. Once impounded, you will be responsible for paying the cost to get your vehicle out of impound. You will also be responsible for any storage fees that were accrued while your vehicle was impounded.
- Alcohol Education Program. A DUI conviction usually also means that you will be required to participate in an Alcohol Education Program as part of your sentence. The typical program is 40 hours long, stretched out over a four month period of time, and can cost between $500 and $1,000 dollars, depending on whether you are a first time offender or a repeat offender.
- Refusal of a Breathalyzer Test. If you were asked to take a breathalyzer test and you refused, there are consequences. For starters, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended for six months. This suspension is in addition to any driver’s license suspension that might be imposed by the court for your DUI conviction. Also, you will have to pay a fee to get your license back once your suspension is over.
- Driver’s License Reinstatement. Getting your license reinstated by the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles after a DUI will cost you between $50 and $1,200 dollars.
Contacting a Massachusetts DUI Criminal Defense Lawyer
DUIs have serious consequences, and some of those consequences cause your wallet to take a serious hit. If you have been arrested for a DUI, you will need to contact an experienced DUI criminal defense lawyer.